The Fairfield-Gutzeit House
341 Main Street, Bath, Ontario
The Fairfield-Gutzeit House is the oldest of three properties, built in 1796 by two brothers, William Jr. and Benjamin, both prominent in the community.
They first came to Bath is 1793 when they left their father's home near Amherstview. The house remained in the Fairfield family until the 1860s, but was not again owned by a Fairfield until 1938 when the estate was purchased by Mabel Fairfield Gutzeit, great-granddaughter of William Fairfield Jr., married to Dr. William H. Gutzeit, a doctor of music.
The Gutzeits enjoyed a very active social life, held musical evenings and had a variety of cultural interests that included the collection of antique paintings and furniture. Mrs. Gutzeit transferred the property to the St. Lawrence Parks Commission which in turn passed it on to the Village of Bath. The original building was a simple 1 1/2 storey structure with an unadorned, steep-pitched roof which reflects the origins of the Fairfield family in Vermont. Considerable alterations were made over the course of time, mostly by the Gutzeits in the late 1930's and early 1940's.
Extensive renovations have been undertaken in recent years by the Society.
The Fairfield-Gutzeit House is open to the public for a small admission fee in the summer months.
- Royal Military College of Canada Yacht Club
- Fairfield Gutzeit House
- 1812 Lafarge Discover Centre
- Flight of the Royal George
- Brigantine Incorporated
- Herkimer's Batteau Company
- Layer Cake Hall
- Bath Town Hall
Welcome to our new web site. Be sure to join us on Facebook, and leave us a message. We love hearing from our visitors.Problem getting content from Facebook.